Pro Tools: AMX 30 Proto

AMX 30 1er Prototype

By:

IrmaBecx

Right now, you can get a deal on what I like to call the finest tank in the game, and I thought I’d spend some time trying to explain what I mean by that.

Really, any deal you can get on the AMX Proto is a good one, because sooner or later you are going to want it, if you have even the slightest interest in driving Medium tanks, and perhaps even if you don’t.

Yes, it really is that good.

But it’s not good because it’s overpowered, even though you may have noticed it is the best performing of all tier IX Medium tanks; no one else even comes close.

Sounds preposterous? Well, I will try my best to try and justify my statement.

*

The AMX Proto is basically a Leopard PTA with one important tradeoff. Instead of a full power 105 mm L7A1 clone, you get a French SA47 100 mm; same as you would off a tier VIII Heavy like the 50 100 or the M4 49. But you also get a gun mantlet that allows you to bounce shells off the turret face, and you don’t have to deal with the tall cupola of the big sister AMX 30 B at tier X.

Otherwise, there’s really nothing impressive about the Prototype, except one thing. It’s fantastically agile, even though it’s not quite as fast as the PTA flat out. 

Good players will be able to take advantage of these two advantages to great effect. The AMX can go wherever it needs to, and with ten degrees of gun depression, there’s no reason to show anything but the turret if there is something to hide behind.

It’s one of the most exquisitely balanced vehicles you can find. You don’t get a lot of armour, but you have it where it counts for trading shots. The gun is more of a workhorse than a surgical instrument, but using your gun mantlet and excellent mobility, it works really well all the same.

So not a very complicated vehicle at all. Just very well executed.

*

But why is it so successful? I have two explanations.

The first is, the AMX doesn’t really have any weaknesses to speak of except thin armour. If you can avoid taking big hits; and you can if you only let them shoot at your turret face, that’s not such an issue. Except for the camo on the move, it’s almost like driving a Light tank, and I’ll be super interested to see how it compares to the upcoming tier IX Brit.

The second is the demographic. If you are just starting out, you may not be in the market for a higher tier vehicle with such flimsy armour, and no really apparent strong point. But if you’ve been around a while, you’ll look at the stats and realise this thing is going to be really effective, and probably lots of fun.

So yes; this is the favourite plaything of a lot of experienced players. The hull down Medium playstyle isn’t very difficult once you’ve learned where the hull down spots are on the various maps, and since it’s so mobile, you can relocate across the map and run away from bad situations quickly.

That, plus a decent main armament is really all you need. The rest is down to your gameplay and decision making.

*

You may feel slightly intimidated at the thought of driving such a flimsy tank with “I’m a Pro” written all over it, and rightly so. I know I am; I bought it the first time it came in a regular bundle, and I haven’t put much more than a hundred games on mine.

I guess I just don’t feel confident enough in my abilities to have the AMX be my daily driver.

But it’s still one of my absolute favourite tanks, and it’s because it’s so perfectly balanced and so much fun to drive. It has one simple trick, and the rest is just good, solid tank design. I should mention the AMX 1er was tested internally by Wargaming, and I really think they did an excellent job with it.

So it’s a classic. A solid performer if you are a solid driver, has an excellent reputation, and I don’t think I know anyone who doesn’t like it.

Should you get one?

I would say yes; sooner or later, unless you are exclusively into slow, massively armoured Heavy tanks, or sitting at the back with a huge doom cannon. Like I said, even so, it’s not impossible the AMX will win you over like it has practically everyone else. If nothing else, it will make you a much better player, in time.

10.000 gold for the “plain jane” version I would call a decent price; I paid more for mine and am still happy about it. Add five thousand, and you’ll also get the AMX M4 49, which is basically a French Löwe; both kitted out with nine equipment slots and camouflage.

I’d say the only bad thing about the bundle is I’m not a huge fan of the avatar you’re getting.

If you’ve been wanting the Tricolore M4 45, this is a good opportunity. If you just want the Prototype, it’s still a good price, but you’ll need two and a half million credits for the equipment. No reason not to run nine slots on this one.

IrmaBecx says at least two thumbs up!

My beloved Proto with the “Jade Shards” paintjob

Leave a comment